History of the Lowell Inn
The Lowell Inn, named for famed Stillwater entrepreneur Elmore Lowell, was built in 1927 on the grounds of the old lumberjack boarding house, The Sawyer House.
It's a classic inn, with stately dining rooms. The George Washington Room hosts elegant formal dining. The Garden room, boasting a spring-fed water fountain, was originally stocked with trout! There is also the Matterhorn room, carved by a carpenter from Switzerland who lived in the hotel for several years as he designed and hand-carved the room. There have also been new additions to the dining rooms, including the intimate Mount Vernon, the new Lowell Inn Event Center, and a touch of nature with the renovation of our new patio.
There are also thirty-five sleeping rooms, decorated in Williamsburg and French Provincial style. A newly annexed addition, completed in 2011, includes twelve new rooms decorated in European Modern décor.
The Inn was run for many years by Arthur and Nelle Palmer, former Vaudevillians, who lived at the Inn and raised their family here. Nelle was well known for her style and was most often the hostess, where she greeted diners and travelers in the Lowell Inn’s glamorous lobby. A portrait of Nelle hangs in the George Washington room.
It is a testament to the hospitality of the Palmer family that three generations of the family operated the Inn. In 2001, the St. Croix Boat and Packet Company purchased the Inn, and strives to continue to maintain the personal attention the Palmer family established for the Inn and, all of its patrons and guests.
U.S. Library of Congress